Portrait time with ABCopen

abcopen
Leandro visits Tully, photos by June Perkins

For someone who normally likes to take, rather than be in pictures, having a portrait done is a tad scary. I’ve been asked to do this by ABC for their annual report, where they are featuring some of their guest bloggers ‘engaging the community in conversations,’ and sharing more about the ABCopen project.

I needn’t have worried because Leandro Palacio, a newly appointed ABCopen producer, who resides in Cairns, puts me immediately at ease. He is so new his page on ABCopen is about to go up and isn’t there yet.

Leandro is from Argentinia originally and most recently lived in Melbourne for ten years. He has made the move to Cairns with his young family and is really enthusiastic about working for the ABC. He is about to make a trip to Cape York. I am sure we will read a blog or see a video of the work he does up there soon.

He has had an interesting life, and you can probably tell I forgot my photograph was being taken and instead began preparing a blog on the visit through an informal interview. I had already asked Leandro if I could do a blog on having the portrait done. He was happy for me to do that.

He liked the spot I had chosen for the photograph – Alligator’s Nest – but like everyone visiting wondered about that name. The true story is on the sign and it’s all to do with some local history. Maybe next time you visit Tully you might like to look it up. It is not because there are Alligators there.

Mystery? Tell me why you think it’s called that? Maybe you can give a creative answer and see how close you get.  Do that before researching the truth.

Recently heritage trail signs went up all over Tully. I might walk around and try and find them all, I have found quite a few and we do read them and they help us to know the history of the area better. It is helpful that they are on location and you can learn history as you walk.

I learnt how to use the self timer on my camera with some assistance from Leandro. I have recently purchased a new camera and am still learning how to use it. The ABCopen producers do a workshops to skill the community up and Leandro has especially run these for young people in his past occupations. He has taught video skills too.

It is exciting to think of the ABCopen producers inspiring a generation of new and young film makers and photographers who may have had a spark lit in a regional community workshop.

I am certain from Leandro’s easy going manner, obvious listening skills, and gentleness that he is going to do a wonderful job for the ABC and out in the community. I am sure that Mick Bromage his Townsville Counterpart is going to have a great time having another producer in North Queensland!

Leandro tells me that all the ABC open producers recently met each other, they had some training and visited QANDA, and got a chance to bond as a nationwide time. I think some of them are going to go on and do great things.

Keep a look out for them in your local community and do go and visit this exciting project of the ABC to see how you can get involved and ‘join the conversation.’

VISIT   ABCopen Project.

(c) June Perkins, all rights reserved, words and image.

Leandro
Leandro - portrait of the portrait taker - by June Perkins
2 thoughts on “Portrait time with ABCopen

  1. Thanks Tammy – will pop by to visit your blog soon, busy writing, blogging, photographing, and went to a brilliant workshop on weekend, will blog it soon. Told people how much I love your blog.

Leave a Reply

