Affirmations

DSC_0066

Today I call myself an artist.
I protect the copyrights of my work.
I will keep forging ahead with my creative spirit,
Seeking to invent, innovate, dream, reinvent, and make
I will trust who I am and want to be.
I will reach out in a spirit of collaboration to those I trust.
I will be confident to understand and then break the frames.
I will look for opportunity and know myself as I go forward and what I want to say with my work.
I will keep developing life long, the journey is never over.
I will look for spaces outside any box that confines.

I have just had the most brilliant time in a webinar through the Fellowship of Australian Agricultural Women which my friend Lydia Valeriano, another pal from the writing group, told me about. Professor Nell Arnold is working with us, inspiring and mentoring, and assisting us to break the frames, and extend ourselves within and without.

I do love the solitude of our space, between the cane and the rainforest, but sometimes it is like a breath of fresh air to have new thoughts expressed, and responses to your work from someone you do not know. Well did not know.

It has been so affirming to hear the role of the artist affirmed, placed into historical/ herstorical perspective and to see our communicative role valued and to know that we can push ourselves further, and yet stand true in what we believe in. I said to friends on facebook today I have gone into creative hyperdrive and the possibilities are so limitless.

If you get a chance where-ever you are to participate in this webinar please do.

Arts the Competition with Self. For more information go to http://www.faaw.org.au/ There is still time to enrol! You won’t regret it!

I have realised a greater need to protect this work, and share it in an environment where I can continue to practice my art through remuneration, which doesn’t really happen with my blog workspace. I will be going through the same process with my photographs. I was so eager to share, speak out, share my voice that I didn’t perhaps give this as much consideration as I should. I am not paranoid, but I know I need to realise you really can’t trust cyberspace, it is a place of monsters and angels.

I will still blog of course, but it may end up being an invitation only blog at some stage. Thanks to all the creatives within my contacts will totally understand my position and support it I know, we all grapple with the best way to make use of the internet. Perhaps it is through more webinars ? More networking that leads to real outcomes for us all as artists, and not just being a voice calling out in the wilderness of blogs and plethora of online communities.

What I appreciate most about blogs, and all these spaces where I have worked, is the development of real contacts amongst artists/writers who practice the art of daily writing, and want to extend their work and develop it. I have utmost respect for those who share their art, and push onwards ever hopeful, affirming, and communicating.


(c) June Perkins, all rights reserved, words and image

Leave a Reply

